Cherry Blossom Festival, Los Angeles

Nick as Asuma, strikes a pose.

Nick as Asuma, strikes a pose.

This is Mollie (Ibiki Teishi) with the highlights of the Cherry Blossom fest in Little Tokyo.  It was a beautiful, sunny SoCal day. 

Even Asuma was there.  I chased this guy all over before I got close enough to say, “Er…uh…may I take your picture?”

Almost before I finished asking,  he’d shoved aside his back pack, pulled out a cigarette and hit a pose.

I didn’t tell him I was writing for IRA, what if he actually knew the site…and…me.  eeee.  Awkward.  Still here’s hoping he finds himself here, he made a durn good Asuma.

The guy on the bike doesn’t look convinced, does he?

Food was pretty standard, except that we were in Little Tokyo, so…there was sushi and yakitori and…cotton candy and fried crap.  What american fesitval would be complete without the cotton candy and sausages?
Paper parasols, fans, slippers and...ant chalk?  WTF is ant chalk?!
Paper parasols, fans, slippers and…ant chalk? WTF is ant chalk?!

There were tiny trees (bonsai) and paper parasols and kimonos and t-shirts.  The guy selling the parasols also had insecticidal chalk.  I’ve got ants walking trails around my porch and tracking through the garage.  They’ve been impossible to stop, but the ant chalk did it.  Immediately.  I don’t wanna know what’s in that stuff.

And I had just been thinkin' to myself...where have all the tiny trees gone?  Where does one go to buy bonsai?!  It's not like they have a big box in the 'burbs for that.

And I had just been thinkin' to myself...where have all the tiny trees gone? Where does one go to buy bonsai?! It's not like they have a big box in the 'burbs for that.

The vendor booths were cool, and I even bought myself a kimono for an upcoming event. Now all I need is a net shirt and I’ll have most of what I need to cosplay…myself. Oh, what a weird thought.

Some of the Yakuta sold by Kyoto Kimono...check them out online if you need some vintage clanwear.

Some of the Yakuta sold by Kyoto Kimono...check them out online if you need some vintage clanwear.

T-shirts? Bathroom humor? Oh, you name it, I’ve got it…

ummm....okay.  Gross.  This T-shirt shot was just for a couple of you who make me read those bubble entries.  Poop is still disgusting, even if you put pink cheeks on it.

ummm....okay. Gross. This T-shirt shot was just for a couple of you who make me read those bubble entries. Poop is still disgusting, even if you put pink cheeks on it.

And then there were those who brought their own selves to display…FUN!

How to make the scene...

How to make the scene...

There were cosplayers and lace girls and other obvious Japanophiles.  There were martial arts displays, a kimono fashion show, traditional dancing and hula girls?!  Yep…I guess since Hawaii is essentially Japan, the community of Little Tokyo thought there should be a whole area of the festival dedicated to the Hawaiian culture as well.

Kimono and Mu'u Mu'u, like peanut butter and chocolate

Kimono and Mu'u Mu'u, like peanut butter and chocolate

Hey, there was even a giant Hello Kitty!!  Man, I know you’re jealous when I bring up the big white cat with the pink bow.  Ah, Hello Kitteh, you are indeed a pic-cha perfect target.

dscn1513_edited

OH! So Cute! Hello Kitteh with Porta Potties in the Background...I R full of Artsy Commentary. 😄

 

The kimono fashion show was splendiferous.  I was really looking forward to this because of the research I’d done on tradish weddings for a fan fic.  The ceremony is usually only observed by the family, and few people get to see the gorgeousness of the kimonos.  So I went a little nuts with the camera.  I’m only going to post a couple here, but I have loads more if you’re interested.  Click the pix if you want the full size images.

Here comes the bride...that headdress is to cover her demon horns, so she'll be a good, submissive addition to the groom's family.  Heh.  I don't think I could be convinced to wear that.

Here comes the bride...that headdress is to cover her demon horns, so she'll be a good, submissive addition to the groom's family. Heh. I don't think I could be convinced to wear that.

 

The Groom waits for his bride with the monk officiant...this was a Buddhist ceremony, but most are Shinto.

The Groom waits for his bride with the monk officiant...this was a Buddhist ceremony, but most are Shinto.

 

Long Sleeves are for Young, Single Women

Long Sleeves are for Young, Single Women

 

The Bride changes clothes at the reception, sometimes 3 or 4 times

The Bride changes clothes at the reception, sometimes 3 or 4 times. Yes, that's a sword in her obi (see the tassles?). A symbolic reminder that it would be her honor to slice out her guts if her marriage goes bad.

 

Fashion show/wedding party all lined up

Fashion show/wedding party all lined up

 Mmmkay, so I’ve shared the freaky, the for sale and the gorgeous.  I bet you all were looking for the sports next, huh?  The martial arts displays were amusing, as all the sensei pushed their programs and turned everything into a big info-mercial (call in the next 20 minutes…).  I popped off some good shots of a judo display, here are some throws.  And I’m not going to tell you what I’m thinking, but it might involve a nose bleed (gets tissue handy, just in case).

I said, "SIT DOWN!"

I said, "SIT DOWN!"

 

'Aw, c'mon, Bro.  I was just playin'.  Naw, Bro, that's just uncool, man.  Don't...UNCOOL!

'Aw, c'mon, Bro. I was just playin'. Naw, Bro, that's just uncool, man. Don't...awww...UNCOOL!

 

Hey...wait...that's.  NOT.  JUDO!!!!!!!!!

Hey...wait...that's. NOT. JUDO!!!!!!!!!

But wait…there’s more…I couldn’t leave you without putting up my shot of a foxy Naruto.  The red contacts don’t show in the pic, but I think that was the best part.  Er…who knows what the guy next to him is supposed to be, but he held up a plush toad as Naruto hit a pose.  OK.  Cool.  That guy’s the toad bearer.  Awesomeness!

The One Tail and the Toad Bearer.  Now I can leave happy.  XD

The One Tail and the Toad Bearer. Now I can leave happy. 😄

~ by 千手 鼾弟子 Ibiki Teishi on April 7, 2009.

35 Responses to “Cherry Blossom Festival, Los Angeles”

  1. 1st

  2. lol im first 1stttttttttttttttttt

    haha

  3. 2nd

  4. good asuma cosplayer

  5. the 2 nd time first lol

  6. THIRD! 😄

  7. LMAO…yeah…now go read the post and look at the pix, chuckleheads. ^.^

  8. aaaahhhhhh…i wanted to be first…ohh well top 10 is fine.. i wish i could have been there…

  9. i said first after readin lmao

  10. LMAO @ The dude sporting the frog next to Naruto…

    Bubble: Kill me! Kill me now!

  11. Bubble

    Naruto Cosplayer: OMG! I’m sooo awesome… I have so many frogs in my ass right now… Grrr… Look at me!

    Guy holding frog: Can he fit one more?! Gather around as we attempt the impossible… 26 plush frogs in one cavity…

  12. Heh, looked really fun especially the Martial Arts display! Glad you went and took some good pics for us unfortunate enough not to live in sunny California. ;P

    Lol, anyway I agree with Ashan on the Asuma cosplayer. That’s really good he had the facial hair and everything. Now I’ll be looking for anything like this in Maryland…Chinatown in D.C. perhaps…*sigh*…I can only wish…Mmmmmmm…Chinese girls…0_0

  13. There’s a bubble contest here? Where? Where? @-@

  14. I made my own up because the looks on the faces of those two is priceless ^_^

  15. Xth.

  16. LMAO 😄

  17. @Jeremiah: Oh, that reminds me Jeremiah. I know I’m doing another double post but could you do a Gai vs. Kakashi poll…maybe in your next breakdown or perhaps in a separate post unrelated to anything else. Me and Ashan have a debate going on who would win and we would like to know what others think. Arigatoooooo! 🙂

  18. Yeah no prob ^_^ I’ll try to remember…

  19. @ Ibi-Wow! We might of bumped into each other Ibi and not know it. I have almost the same pics lol. Got the wedding ceremony, hello kitty, the asuma guy. The martial arts pics are different form mine. I had the guys before those. The black shirted people with the brooklyn italian not so funny guy. I was laughing when I saw that t-shirt. Did you get any pics of the group of people dressed as Soul eater characters?

  20. captn: I got vid of the unfunny sensei almost breaking his student’s arm…so yeah…we were there at the same time. @.@ Walked away before the soul eater guys. Hmmm…I coulda stepped on your toes and you never woulda known. heh heh heh. ^.^

  21. @Captnmexico: She was probably the girl with the ‘I Love Super’ T-Shirt on. 😀

    @Jeremiah: Thx alot! Now this debate will finally come to AN END!!! *_*

  22. @super: oh, you do have a death wish. Don’t you? *glares* -_-

  23. @Ibiki: Great post, thanks for the glimpse. I miss cali weather, trying to wear that layered Kimono in southern Louisiana would constitute suicide. That guy next to ‘Naruto’ is like the dumpiest Sasuke I have ever seen.

  24. @ Ibiki – great post, I can’t wait to see you cosplay yourself – and to hear all the people say shit like “that’s the most FAKE Ibiki I’ve ever seen” *as we all know there are “those” types out there*

    *Jeremiah – LOL @ Anal reverse frog summoning Naruto. That’s like DevaPain being able to Bansho-tennin things, but only into his ass… comedy ensues

  25. @Naruto pic from above – Are we sure that’s not one of Naruto’s early “FAILED” clones… looks kinda sickly… maybe he needs a shotgunblast-to-the-head-no-jutsu to put him out of his misery.
    As for his partner in the pic, I rather like “Stalker replacement Sasuke”

    Replacement sasuke: “Uh, no… nothings changed, I just look and sound completely different…I know amerterasu, leave me alone”

    *konoha children throw rocks at him, yell “Emo go home” *

  26. @Ibiki: If you’re going to kill me with the Boobs Jutsu you mentioned yesterday in the chat room then I guess…everybody’s gotta die some day! 😉

    If you’re gonna kill me any other way…0_0! *Super digs a hole*

    @Prawl: LMAO at “Emo go Home” 😄
    *wipes tears from eyes and goes back into hiding*

  27. BUBBLE:

    Asuma: I’m Asuma, gimme a light or I’ll stab you with my… SHIT! Those damned festival people DISARMED me. Oh well, I’ll just kill you with Searing ash jutsu.

    *********ALSO*********

    We finally find out where HELLO KITTY ANBU has been hiding! after weeks with little more than a glancing shot of him/her, we find out where it’s been… KONOHA IS SOMEWHERE IN SOCAL

  28. Grrrrrrrrrrr. As long as you’re digging, supertrek, make it rectangular and 6 feet deep. Save me the trouble.

    Get off my boobs, dude, you’re trespassing.

  29. *Digs hole 6 feet deep and rectangular in shape*

    Phew, alright Ibiki I’m done. This better be for a good reason this damn hole took forever…what’s up with the shovel? Heeeeeeey, I know what you’re doing now! Wait- *Ibiki buries Super* >_<

    Hehe, thank goodness I brought these Hinata comics…F**k it’s two dark! 😉

    Alright laying off the boob jokes! 😦

  30. hmm….. I been thinking if there was someone who looked familiar to your comic drawing of you(assuming its you). Where you wearing a a kimono?

  31. No I was not, captn, but I was with someone who was. ^.^

  32. @ Ibiki: Awesomeness post! I’d have loved to be there, it looked like you had a great time ^_^ Is it a weekend event, or just for one day? Maybe I’ll try to attend next year …

    @ Supertrek: Well, there is a Cherry Blossom “festival” in DC, but alas, nothing like what Ibiki has shared with us. Still though, MD has plenty to keep you busy, and I loved how it only took 1-2 hours to get to 4 major cities *sighs reminiscently* I miss my homestate sometimes ^_*

  33. @Elfarren: Is that so? Thanks Elfarren I’ll look it up! Arigato! 😀

  34. fighting pict from above
    Hey…wait…that’s. NOT. JUDO!!!!!!!!!

    isnt that steveo from jackass???

  35. hmmm… Does anyone ever call the festival “Sakura”?
    Very cool photos and the festival looks like a lot of fun; thank you for sharing!

    LOVE & Peace

Leave a Reply

 
