What’s with all the new stuff?

Hey everyone,

I’m sure a lot of you noticed that the blog is starting to cover some new manga.  None of the three added are as far into their run as Naruto or Bleach… Not even close, actually, and none of the three added are Shonen Jump manga or weekly manga for that matter.  I know, I know, your head is exploding even considering reading a manga from outside of SJ that isn’t weekly.  But the truth is that there is a lot of really great manga to read out there and we are going to try to expose you to it… if you haven’t been already.

For those of you well versed in the new series we are adding, it will just give you someone to talk to about the new chapters when they come out ^_^  I post the brief synopsis that onemanga.com provides below for each new manga, and then give my 2 cents on each.

soul-eater-logo

OM SYNOPSIS:

Soul Eater is a funny manga about three shinigami students with their partners who can transform into weapons. They must train their weapons and eat 99 souls and the soul of a witch in order to be proper shinigami. It’s a really funny manga with lots of lovable characters and fanservice.

Categories: actioncomedy, ecchi, shounen, supernatural

My quick 2 cents:  The characters are really enjoyable and the series is well drawn.  The obvious parallels to Naruto and Bleach are there, but isn’t that a good thing? Over all very good Action Comedy.

Great Characters: Frankenstien, Blair Witch *drools*, Black Star, Tsubaki, Maka, Soul.

Doing the Breakdowns: Scorpion (AKA Eddie, AKA Last Scorpion, AKA Scorpion Legacy)

How often do new issues come out?: Monthly

How many chapters are they into it? 59

Link to chapter 1: Soul Eater #1

vampire-knight-logo

OM Synopsis:

Cross Academy is attended by two groups of students: the Day Class and the Night Class. At twilight, when the students of the Day Class return to their dorm, they cross paths with the Night Class on their way to school. Yuki Cross and Zero Kiryu are the Guardians of the school, there to protect the Day Class from the Academy’s dark secret: the Night Class is full of vampires.

Categories: mystery, romance, school life, shoujo, supernatural, tragedy

 

My quick two cents:  Though this is a shoujo, there is enough of a really good story, violence, and blood to keep you interested and it’s really hard to mess up Vampires, right?  Good thing they don’t.

Great Characters: Zero, Kanami, Yuuki

Doing the breakdowns?: Ibi (AKA Ibiki Teishi, AKA Mollie)

 

How often do new issues come out?: Monthly

How many chapters are they into it?: 48

Link to chapter 1: Vampire Knight #1

shinobi_life_logo

OM Synopsis:

Many, many years ago, a ninja named Kagetora devoted his life to protecting Princess Beni (”Beni-Hime”). Unfortunately, they were attacked and Kagetora was flung into a lake and sank to the bottom… And is somehow warped to the future where he sees the princess Beni being kidnapped.


Little does Kagetora know that Beni is not the real princess, but rather her descendant. Beni, on the other hand, thought that Kagetora was just a cosplayer. Beni, the daughter of a rich man, has already been kidnapped a hundred times already… But fear not because Kagetora is here. Will Kagetora be able to go back to the past, or will he remain by Beni’s side forever?

Categories: comedy, martial arts, romance, shoujo

My quick two cents: I stumbled onto this brand new manga that just hit the shelf in the US for the first time this month off a recomendation from the magazine NEO and I’m hooked.  This one is for all those who love Naruto but wouldn’t mind a little (or a lot in this manga) more of a story on Naruto/Hinata.  It’s a romance but its got some funny ninja-out-of-his-element type comedy. Down side is very little action… its a situational comedy with potential but if you can’t take a love story… stay away at all costs @_@

Great Characters: Kagetora, Benni

Doing the breakdowns: Jeremiah (for now until someone else comes along who will do a good job)

How often do new issues come out?: Monthly

How many chapters are they into it?: 14

Link to chapter 1: Shinobi Life #1

one-piece-logo

OM Synopsis:

Seeking to be the greatest pirate in the world, young Monkey D. Luffy, endowed with stretching powers from the legendary “Gomu Gomu” Devil’s fruit, travels towards the Grand Line in search of One Piece, the greatest treasure in the world.

Categories: adventure, comedy, drama, fantasy, shounen

My quick two cents: I said I’d never ever do One Piece on this site… you should NEVER say never.  As I started adding the new manga, Supertrek emailed me and asked if he could do it… I couldn’t say no to a loyal contributor of the site, so… well there ya go.  I may even try picking this up from the last story arc just to give it a try, but I’m too far behind the 500+ chapters to catch this one from the beginning >_<

Doing the breakdown: Tarik (AKA Supertrek)

How often do new issues come out?: Weekly

How many chapters are they into it?: 536 (0_0) OMG!

Link to chapter 1: One Piece #1

So, that’s about it… hope you give a couple more manga a try, and if any one of you is interested in writing for or contributing to any of the above series’, please don’t hesitate to email me: Jeremiah@iareawesomeness.com

We are officially looking for more authors again 🙂

Ja

Jeremiah

~ by 火影 千手 iareawesomeness on March 24, 2009.

42 Responses to “What’s with all the new stuff?”

  1. shinobimadness!!!! First hahah

  2. alot of stuff here now…don’t know where to start at with these new series(except for one piece…saw an episode and i looked wayyy to silly for me and i love dexter’s lab…lol) anyways jeremiah or whoever could give me a suggestion and id be happy to check it out..

  3. second!

  4. ok third

  5. neways how im i suppose to keep all these different worlds seperated in my mind? especially when they are all so similar! I am having nightmares where naruto becomes a hollow and eats me already… with this new stuff i think ima go crazy.

  6. @ Shinobimadness – If you really want to get into a new manga, I’d suggest reading the post and choosing one that peaks ur interest the most. They really cover a wide variety of manga. The best part is that for us that already read Bleach and Naruto most of the new ones up there are monthly, not weekly manga…

    @ demonbrosruletheworld – I was talked into OnePiece *Grumbles* Perhaps one day I’ll be grateful I let Supertrek talk me into it but right now I’m already kicking myself in the ass ^_^

  7. The challenge begins, alright the monthly ones can be read, I think. I was already trying to catch up on One Piece. Hmm maybe I should call Black Lagoon. Any great post its good to know things to read beforehand.

  8. Ooo, some very interesting stuff I’ll be needing to look into now ^_^

    A good graphic novel/manga a friend of mine suggested that you might be interested in is “Battle Angel Alita”. The series is about half a dozen volumes long (dunno how many chapters that makes) and was made in the 90s. It’s definitely not a girly manga, though the main character is a cyborg chick, and there’s gore and fighting aplenty. I’ll include a condensed version of the wiki summary below …

    Battle Angel Alita tells the story of Alita, an amnesiac female cyborg whose intact head and upper torso are found in a state of suspended animation by cybermedic Daisuke Ido while he is out searching for useful scrap. Amazed by his discovery, Ido returns home and revives her. Upon finding that the girl has lost her memory, Ido names her Alita, the name of his recently deceased cat.

    The rebuilt Alita soon discovers that she possesses instinctive knowledge of the legendary martial art Panzer Kunst, although she has no other memories of her previous life. Alita must learn to exist in the Scrapyard, whose inhabitants live in the shadow of the tantalizingly close floating city, Tiphares. Her journeys take Alita across the Scrapyard and surrounding areas, as she tries to recall more of her past (and kicks a lot of @$$!).

  9. Mmmmmmm…vampires….*droooooooooool*

  10. Come on everybody let’s sing “The Pirate Song”!!! LMAO! One Piece FTW! ^_^

  11. Vampires and pirates and cyborgs, oh my.

  12. Personally I am a huge fan of one piece and I definately don’t mind yo

    carry on supertrek

    Ace has yo back

  13. Why not add more manga’s O_O
    Sure…
    I see where this is going…

  14. if you wanna do new manga do one piece

  15. Jeez Louise, the site is a rampaging Juggernaut now.

  16. @erosennin all we need now is a equal balance of all these mangas…(except naruto of course)…

  17. *in the voice of slingblade*

    I bit a Vampire once – vampires taste like corn…

  18. Hell yeah! more manga. Not really into vampire knight(think its a chick thing). I have read some of it because of a losing bet with my sister(she loves it….). Anyone here read Historys strongest disciple kenichi? I just started reading last week(up to chapter(up 100). So far its pretty good IMO.

  19. Ok just read Shinobi Life, good art, good story, perhaps a bit too much estrogen and not enough testosterone for my taste. 15 chapters and only one fight. I was like, “Geez kill’em and drop them into the past already! Yeah, dad too.”

  20. i would like onepiece alot more if it didnt require half my life to catch up! it took me long enough to catch up to naruto manga and bleach manga, plus every anime episode… but i onepoece is almost double both just by itself. 500 plus chapters!!!! 300 plus episodes!!!! i could spemd a week just staring at my computer and still not be caught up.

  21. is my gravatar working?

  22. neways if nebody can eventually see it, it is almost exactly what i saw in my crazy ass dream.

  23. @Kakarocks: Lol, we have One Piece now!

    @Demon: Ummmm…I see something that looks like it would appear in a crazy ass dream but I don’t think that’s the gravatar you meant. Lol, it’s waving at me…

  24. @captnmexico21… Yeah I read Historys strongest disciple kenichi ^_^. I keep up with a few different mangas. list time…
    1.Naruto
    2.Bleach
    3.Souleater
    4.Historys strongest disciple kenichi
    5.Full Metal Alchemist
    6.Claymore….
    well, thats all the manga I read…for now. -_+

  25. There is a manga called “Violence Fighter Riki-oh” which I had read. There’s not many chapter, and it is completed, but I had to read it after seeing the movie. Yes, the live action movie (think Dead-Alive budget for special effects) It has some key points that are laughable, but expect it to lose ALOT in translation.

  26. D’oh! Riko-oh isn’t finished at all… but no one cares, so it’s ok

  27. can nebody explain how to get my gravatar to change here? when i click change my gravatar it shows the one i want but its not working here

  28. plus my new one is freaking awesome and would go perfectly with this post so i wanna get it in here where someone might see it on this section.

  29. @ demonbros – if you just uploaded it then it may take 24-48hrs,if its been longer than that then its a bad picture format.

  30. aight, i guess its only been a few hours. 7hanks

  31. wow, i’m glad people keep up with History’s strongest disciple: Kenichi. My top list is exactly like scorpion’s. This site might is getting much stronger now. I bet we celebrate 2 mill hits before june!

  32. @scorpion- Nice my list is almost the same.
    1.Naruto
    2.Bleach
    3.Souleater
    4.Historys strongest disciple kenichi
    5.Full Metal Alchemist
    6.One piece
    Is claymore any good? Been thinking about reading after catching up on Historys strongest disciple kenichi.

  33. is is good. It is more about fighting and gore, It is not like the other mangas I read. I watched the anime first but then it split from the manga. I was just thinking…. I watched a hell of a lot of anime lmao, way more then manga.

  34. My list is pretty short:
    1. Naruto
    2. Bleach
    3. Soul Eater
    4. Kanokon
    5. Addicted to Curry
    6. Death Note

  35. lmao, I think 6 is the magic number.

  36. He all you sasugay haters out there!!!!!!!

    Great news! Kakarocks has created a site just for us. Please join kakarocks and Marksman The Incredible to spread the news.

    Tell all your Sasugay Uchiha hating friends!!!!!

  37. Hey all you sasugay haters out there!!!!!!!

    Great news! Kakarocks has created a site just for us. Please join kakarocks and Marksman The Incredible to spread the news.

    Tell all your Sasugay Uchiha hating friends!!!!!

  38. ^ Spam 😉

    I say we should preserve the old and crush the new 😮

  39. oooo~ all my favs~ but the thing is… why is vampire knight not being updated anymore… TTnTT

  40. I just finished reading the Claymore series, and it was pretty good. Take the demon ranks of Inuyasha, and add conspiracy for plot twist, and good art to boot. I forget the first to suggest it, but I think Scorpion Legacy is who’s got me to try it. I recommend it.

  41. @Erosennin- I know Claymore is great, lots of gore, action and that plot twist was massive. Claymore is one manga that I can’t predict.

  42. No Black Cat? Awww…I’m disappointed!

    Black Cat is a great manga…bounty hunters plus chi power plus awesome characters = this manga.

    Loads of action, but not so much on the love story if you’re into that.

    Also, Judas. I came across this short manga series by accident and LOVED it. A little weird and a little sacrireligious and a little perverted but fun and fast paced.

    I did pick up Vampire Knight and flipped through the first volume…but I was strangely disappointed. Maybe I wasn’t in the mood for vampires, or something? Maybe I’ll give it another try. I HAVE been keeping updated with the One Piece manga,which is SO fun and has lots of blood and action, and I’m happy to see some discussion started about this manga.

Leave a Reply

 
